Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

23766634

Goodreads Summary:

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.


 

FOREWARNING: PREPARE FOR LOTS OF RANTS AND READ NO FURTHER IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE FIRST TWO BOOKS!!!!


 

My Review

Oh. My. Goodness. I don’t even know where to begin with this review!!! My heart and my mind are completely WRECKED! WRECKED I SAY!!! This book took me on the most incredible and heart wrenching ride! I am so blown away by how amazing it was!! It literally left me shook! I haven’t felt this way about a series/book in too long!!

Ok ok let me get started now. Or try to…

Oh wait, before I really begin, let me also add that my experience with this book was all the more involved and real because I made sure I reread the first two books before this one. So everything was crystal clear this time, and made this third book all the more enthralling!

Ok ok, trying again. (***Clears metaphorical throat***)

Alright! We all know after reading book two that Rhysand is EVERYTHING. And Tamlin is a big giant pile of poo poo. And wasn’t that just the most insane turn around you ever did read in a book? (***bows to Sarah J Maas***) Check out my review for A Court of Mist and Fury to see more of what I’m talking about!  However, my perspective on Tamlin and that entire destructive love triangle, Love battle? Love fiasco?  completely became altered after reading ACOWR. Of course I still have some animosity toward him, but his character development allows the reader to open their eyes more in regards to the reality of his situation.

After book two ended, the reader was left with watching Feyre literally walk into the arms of the enemy, and though it was heart breaking, she was on a mission to destroy Tamlin and his hold on his kingdom, and boy does she do that and then some!! As if we didn’t already know Feyre was an eternal badass, she takes things up a notch now that she is a full blown High Lady! The measures she takes to ensure the safety of her family are astronomical, she goes to any lengths, even if it means facing her true nightmares in order to see those she loves succeed. And of course Rhysand is there for her through it all being all dashing and wonderful as always! Their romance was as sweet and fierce as ever, making me fall even more in love with their relationship.

Moving on. The character development in this book was INSANE!! Something new about every main character is revealed that adds further depth each time I turned the page.  Maas dangles Cassian and Nesta’s tumultuous relationship in front you the entire time, and its so killer yet so fantastic! Also, I didn’t think I could enjoy Mor, Amren, and Azriel even more, but I was oh so wrong! It’s so rare when an author can create characters who are so wholly different and unique that they cause you to love each one individually for their own ways. I can’t wait to see more from these side characters in future books, because it’s sure to be mind blowing!

And lastly, so much happened in this book, it was easily the most fast paced of the three thus far. The action and suspense was nonstop, I could not put it down, and when I had to for stupid things like work and studying for the GRE, I was super sad to see it go. By the time I finished this book, I was a complete emotional wreck, but I was also bursting with so much love and hope for the story. From what I understand, I believe this is a mini conclusion for Feyre and Rhys’s story. The next three books in the series  will focus more on the other characters, which I’m ecstatic to delve into, but damn I hope Maas includes those two throughout! Either way, the ending of ACOWR was phenomenal, I couldn’t have asked for a better book! I don’t think there’s one thing I would change! And Maas certainly dropped multiple easter eggs about certain events to come!

I would most definitely, 100% recommend you read this book, it is so worth the experience! Go buy it right now!! Right here!And if you did read it already, please comment, I would love to discuss! Unfortunately, I’ve been trying to convince a lot of my book friends to read this so I haven’t been able to really talk about it with anyone yet!

 

Reread and Repost (Plus Some New Thoughts): Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTR #1) by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Goodreads Summary:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Be sure to scroll down to the very end to see my new thoughts after rereading it! 

 

My Review

I had seen so much hype over this book and saw all the wonderful reviews, that I definitely had high expectations! And sure enough, they were met!! A Court of Thorns and Roses is similar in some ways to Beauty and the Beast but takes on a life of it’s own as events progress!!

Feyre has been the sole provider for her family ever since her father lost his fortune. Day after day she is forced to hunt the forests for meals and trade what she can in the local village in order to sustain her family. That is until the day she accidentally kills a faerie and gets swept away to Pyrthian (the faerie lands) by the mysterious Tamlin, . While there her life is turned entirely upside down as she discovers more behind the truth about faeries and their dealings with humans, falling for Tamlin along the way.

Feyre was the perfect female lead! She’s a badass, and doesn’t wait for a man to step in to do what a woman can just as easily do! She is persistent and was a wonderful character to experience. Her relationship with Tamlin was definitely slow on the uptake but it was oh so worth it. Though I would have liked for the romance to be a little bit heavier, there was sill plenty for enjoyment. Besides SO much happens in this first book, that the lack of more intimate moments did not impede on the excitement of the story whatsoever.

The plot movement was constant, and kept me on my toes throughout. There really wasn’t a slow moment in the story. In fact so much happened and progressed, that it almost felt like I was reading book one and two! The last 150 pages were so insanely epic and emotionally strenuous that it felt more like the sequel to the beginning pages. The last half was definitely the most amazing, but the first half was lovely and the perfect set up for the conclusion. Maas created a beautiful world in A Court of Thorns and Roses, one that was both captivating and alluring, as well as intriguing and suspenseful! Though most the loose ends were tied up and the book didn’t end in a cliffhanger, I can still see how there will be a book two. However, with such a great beginning, I’m afraid a sequel might dampen things. Nevertheless, you can be sure I’ll be reading book two!!

I would definitely recommend A Court of Thorns and Roses to any fantasy fans out there!! I’d recommend it to anyone really! Buy it on Amazon here!

SPOILERS AHEAD, IF YOU HAVEN’T READ BOOK TWO DON’T READ ANY FURTHER

New Thoughts, now that I know what I know from book two:

Finally book three in ACOTR is out!! So of course, I had to slow myself down from devouring A Court of Wings and Ruin and take the time to reread the previous books! Unfortunately, its taking me longer than I thought it would.

Anyway, OMG why didn’t I see this before?! Of course Rhysand loved Feyre from the very start and had a connection with her! It was utterly devastating to read the book knowing she would eventually be with him and yet having to endure her rejecting him! Rhysand clearly would have done anything for her from the get-go, which made me appreciate him as a character all the more. His side of the story is just as unfortunate as anyone else. In fact, I’d say he’s an even bigger victim!