Top Ten Tuesday Turns 10: Top Ten Most Binge-worthy TV Shows (An Updated list)

So this week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl  is a special one because the meme is turning 10 years old! So she has given us the option of redoing/updating a past Top Ten Tuesday or doing one that we never got to do in the first place. Since I’ve watched more tv than I have read books over the past few years, I thought I’d update my tv show one. It was hard to feel the energy to read before bed when you’re in a rigorous doctoral program lol! Some of the shows from the original post made the list again, because they were just that good, but there are mostly new ones…which either makes me a very pathetic person that I’ve watched so many shows in 6 years (most of these I’ve rewatched a complete second time as well since 2014), or makes me super impressive that I somehow found the time to do so. You decide!

Check out my original post from 2014


I’ll list them in no particular order (outside of the first two) since I can’t fully decide how to order these.

My Top Ten Most Binge-worthy TV Shows

b4ERr2LQcbAMctgTpJVA2B

Friends: Are you even surprised??? I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t fully watch Friends from start to finish until early 2018. I had seen episodes on and off for years but finally got invested and got hooked, then proceeded to watch the entire show another time through, a year after the fact. These characters just easily find a way into your heart and it’s just a show I will probably always be attached to.

1_ZVPJUG_Khy1SYjAaJFF3QQ

The Office: Another show I was late to the game on and started in 2017, and have also watched a second time through since. Friends and The Office are the top feel good shows for sure! I also always like to think that my boyfriend and I are Jim and Pam. We  gradually fell in love while working together, he fell for me first, and we both admired from afar until the truth came out and that was all she wrote. Almost two and a half years later, we’re living together and I couldn’t be happier. I got him into The Office a little over a year ago and now he’s obsessed too.

avatar-the-last-airbender-poster

Avatar: The Last Airbender: It’s funny because I’m currently in the midst of my third complete rewatch since the series ended on TV. I own it on DVD too because it’s truly just that incredible and I had to have it. My love for Avatar has been reignited all over again, it never gets old for me. I still laugh at all the jokes and feel every emotion I remember feeling when I first watched it on TV as a kid.

market

New Girl: Another show I rewatched this past year, the characters are just so damn lovable!

MV5BMzZjNmRhNWQtNTAyYy00Yjk2LWE0NzUtMmYyNTU0YTE5NjJiXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjI4OTE5OTM@._V1_UY1200_CR105,0,630,1200_AL_

Fairy Tail: Sorry not sorry for including an anime in this list, but OH. MY. I could probably go on and on for hours about why Fairy Tail is the best anime out there and about the emotional damage it has caused me over the past 6 years lol! I only recently was able to finally watch the last season after rewatching the entire show to fully refresh for it. Yes it has over 300 episodes, and yes I did wish there were 300 more! I have had the biggest show hangover since finishing the last season a month ago.

Supernatural-supernatural-30545991-1680-1050

Supernatural: Another repeat from the OG list, because this show will never not be one of my all time favorites/obsessions! There’s a reason it’s been on for 15 years and has one of the best fan bases out there! I’m going to be utterly shattered when it ends this Fall.

psych-tv-shows-coming-to-netflix-in-may-2014

Psych: This one made the list again because I’ve also rewatched it since the original list. It’s just such a ridiculous show but so much fun from start to finish.

268x0w

Game of Thrones: Despite the abhorrent season finale, Game of Thrones is unlike any other and up until the last season, I was completely in love with it.

118568992

The Big Bang Theory: I still haven’t seen the last 3 or 4 seasons, but I absolutely die of laughter every time I put it on. I’m determined to buy the new HBO streaming platform so I can rewatch it from the beginning and finally watch the final seasons.

AAAABaoKhbW09uWY9zsESnNXuqzJ_Q-UW3HoObV9Np3V4sv4jI_wHmpmU0gdMFKUaGT4ALiUO5cQn29ftVbTJZWnOL1wtuKA-8ec2840

Schitt’s Creek: My boyfriend and I literally watched this on a whim one night on Netflix, loved it, finished it and then like a month later realized it had suddenly become popular everywhere. It’s another one of those totally ridiculous shows that sucks you in!


Well that’s it for my Top Ten Binge-worthy TV Shows! Have you guys seen any of these? What are your thoughts? 

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Turns 10: Top Ten Most Binge-worthy TV Shows (An Updated list)

  1. stephaniesbookreviews June 23, 2020 / 7:44 am

    Friends, The Office, and New Girl are also shows I watch over and over again! I was sad when Friends was taken off of Netflix, but there’s still several episodes a day in syndication on various channels, so I can still get my fix.

  2. vee_bookish June 23, 2020 / 8:05 am

    The collective hate we all have for the final season of Game Of Thrones! It was truly terrible. I’ve filled in the hole with The Witcher, it is so good. I’m looking forward to the second season and the GoT prequels.

    My most binge watched shows are Drag Race, Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Doctor Who!

    • escapeinsidethepages June 23, 2020 / 9:11 am

      I tried to get into The Witcher and didn’t end up finishing season one!

      Omg yes, I love Buffy too! Still need to watch Doctor Who though

  3. lydiaschoch June 23, 2020 / 9:36 am

    My spouse got me started on Psych a few months ago. I believe we just finished season two. It’s fun so far!

    My TTT.

  4. Lauren @ Always Me June 23, 2020 / 12:24 pm

    It’s going to be brutal when Supernatural ends… at least I own the seasons on dvd so I can rewatch it all whenever I want! One of these days I’m going to start in on Avatar: The Last Airbender. It sounds brilliant. I’ve just gotten myself sucked into Case Histories – I wish it had more than two seasons. Now I’m going to have to jump in to the book series it’s based on by Kate Atkinson!

    • escapeinsidethepages June 23, 2020 / 1:26 pm

      It really will be, I only own some of the seasons on dvd so I’ve got to make sure I get my hands on them all soon! I highly recommend Avatar, you won’t regret it! I’ve never seen Case Histories but it sounds super interesting!

  5. RS June 25, 2020 / 4:43 pm

    I literally cannot count how many times I’ve seen Friends or The Office. Great choices. (also,awww @ your Jim/Pam IRL story)

  6. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer June 29, 2020 / 6:28 pm

    We watch The Office on a loop around here. 😉 And Friends and New Girl are some of my favorites, as well! Great post!

Leave a comment