Review:Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead

8709527

Goodreads Summary:

I wasn’t free of my past, not yet.

Sydney’s blood is special. That’s because she’s an alchemist – one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. But the last encounter Sydney had with vampires got her in deep trouble with the other alchemists. And now with her allegiences in question, her future is on the line.

When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside – and within – the school grounds. Now that they’re in hiding, the drama is only just beginning.

SPOILER ALERT: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES, READ NO FURTHER! 

My Review

I was so excited to get my hands on Bloodlines after absolutely loving The Vampire Academy! I knew the story was focused on Sydney the Alchemist but I wasn’t entirely sure what it was all about. I am so glad I started this journey with the series!

The story focuses on a new assignment for Alchemist Sydney with Jill (the half-sister of the Lissa). After Jill is brutally attacked at court she is asked to be sent away under the protection of guardians and Sydney at a boarding school among humans. After the events surrounding Rose, Sydney has been under scrutiny from her fellow Alchemists, so this is her chance to prove herself and her loyalties. However, as mysterious events surrounding alchemy tattoos progress, and she spends more and more time with Adrain, she soon finds that the line between good and evil is a lot more blurred than she realized.

Sydney’s point of view was refreshing and unexpectedly entertaining. She has a fire in her that you don’t get to see in the Vampire Academy books. Her wit and quick intuition makes her adaptable and lovable at the same time. Though there was not a whole lot of action throughout, I found myself wholly intrigued and pulled in by the characters. There were so many questions being thrown out and I had to know the answers. I wound up being very surprised by how things played out and completely enthralled by the content! The ending was highly suspenseful and utterly gripping, not to mention, I was left with even more questions by the time I reached the last page.

I cannot wait to read book two of this lovely series, I would definitely recommend reading Bloodlines if you loved Vampire Academy as much as I did! Buy it on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

