Review: Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead

 

6527740

Goodreads Summary:

They come first.

My vision was growing dimmer, the blackness and ghosts closing in. I swore it was like I could hear Robert whispering in my ear: The world of the dead won’t give you up a second time. Just before the light completely vanished, I saw Dimitri’s face join Lissa’s. I wanted to smile. I decided then that if the two people I loved most were safe, I could leave this world.

The dead could finally have me.

Rose Hathaway has always played by her own rules. She broke the law when she ran away from St. Vladimir’s Academy with her best friend and last surviving Dragomir princess, Lissa. She broke the law when she fell in love with her gorgeous, off-limits instructor, Dimitri. And she dared to defy Queen Tatiana, leader of the Moroi world, risking her life and reputation to protect generations of dhampir guardians to come.

Now the law has finally caught up with Rose – for a crime she didn’t even commit. She’s in prison for the highest offense imaginable: the assassination of a monarch. She’ll need help from both Dimitri and Adrian to find the one living person who can stall her execution and force the Moroi elite to acknowledge a shocking new candidate for the royal throne: Vasilisa Dragomir.

But the clock on Rose’s life is running out. Rose knows in her heart the world of the dead wants her back…and this time she is truly out of second chances. The big question is, when your whole life is about saving others, who will save you?

 

My Review

Wow, just wow! I can’t believe I finished The Vampire Academy series at last! My heart is so happy and so sad at the same time to say goodbye to these beloved characters! I wish it hadn’t taken me so long to finish reading it (over 2 weeks) but being a college student really sucks sometimes!

Spirit Bound ended with Rose being the sole suspect for the murder of the Moroi Queen Tatiana!! Rose was forced to flee with Dimitri (yay!) leaving her friends back at court to discover who the real culprit is!  This crazy of an ending had me pining for the next book! I was dying to know who actually had killed the queen and how in the hell Rose was going to get out of this situation! Most importantly, I NEEDED to see things finally work out between her and Dimitri!

Last Sacrifice brought about the next great adventure for Rose and her friends! Mead has such an extraordinary way of creating a brand new story, distinctly separate from the last. There are never any redundancies with these books! So many new discoveries happen that had me in shock! I hated that it took me so long to read this book because I know I would have enjoyed it even more. However, it didn’t make the story drag whatsoever, which is a true test as to how great the plot was. There were developments after developments, and the opposite of what you expected to happen happened.

I have to admit that the ending was surprising and yet a little less exciting than the past endings have been. I guess I thought there would be a little bit more of a bang for the final conclusion. Don’t get me wrong I was completely satisfied with the way everything played out, I just thought there would have been just a little bit more action, although you could say the rest of the book made up for that since so much happened throughout!! And of course my love for Dimitri grew ever stronger! So much swooning folks, so much swooning! You will most definitely be pleased by the romantic conclusion, do not fret!

If you’re looking for a new vampire read, then The Vampire Academy series are the books for you! These books have fantastic characters, fast paced plots, and a killer romance!!

Buy Last Sacrifice on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

