Review: Specials (Uglies #3) by Scott Westerfeld

netflix-new

Goodreads Summary:

“Special Circumstances”: The words have sent chills down Tally’s spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious ugly. Back then Specials were a sinister rumor — frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, breathtakingly fast. Ordinary pretties might live their whole lives without meeting a Special. But Tally’s never been ordinary.

And now she’s been turned into one of them: a superamped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid.

The strength, the speed, and the clarity and focus of her thinking feel better than anything Tally can remember. Most of the time. One tiny corner of her heart still remembers something more.

Still, it’s easy to tune that out — until Tally’s offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat, or carry out the mission she’s programmed to complete. Either way, Tally’s world will never be the same.

My Review

Well, after having not been too pleased with Pretties (Uglies #2) I had really hoped that I would enjoy Specials. I was wrong. Book three had the same repetitive plot that the first two books had.

Recap of the ending of Pretties: Tally finally finds Zane and David after spending a lot of time in the “wild.” However, she arrives to see Zane worse off then ever before but refuses to leave him when Special Circumstances arrives and takes them both away.

So naturally Tally becomes a “special” if you didn’t already assume that from the title. Once again we have a plot in which Tally is taken and becomes something she doesn’t want to be and then decides she likes it for a while until she doesn’t and wakes up again. So that’s essentially every plot of this series which gets old fast. Though I will say there was a lot more action/suspense in Specials than the past few books, but I still didn’t enjoy it all that much. There just weren’t many new things to take in. The ending went in a different direction I expected but I was glad it did, and the romance also finally took a turn that I liked. Based on the final events, I’m surprised there even is a 4th book. The series could have ended the way it does in Specials prompting me to be even less inclined to continue the series.

If you have been reading the series up until this point, I would recommend stopping at book three unless you really are eager to read more of this universe. Unfortunately, I wasn’t very impressed with the series overall. Maybe if I had picked up the books years ago before I had read so many dystopian books, I might have enjoyed them more.

You can buy Specials on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

