Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

13206900

Goodreads Summary:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

My Review

I have such a hard time writing this review due to my very mixed feelings toward this fourth and final installment. I really don’t know where to begin but I hope I will still be able to fully get my point across.

After reading this series for almost three years, I was more than ready to find out how it would end, and was super excited to receive Winter much earlier from the library than expected! I was so looking forward to it being my big stress reliever during finals week. Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure that reading it during such a busy time caused me to drag on the story even more than it was already dragged on to begin with. It took me much longer than it should have to finish Winter, and I can’t help but I feel that, though I did start it during a busy time, I probably would have finished it a lot faster if the content had been more exciting in the first place!

Now I’m sure you’re thinking that I totally disliked this book just from the first paragraph, but that isn’t necessarily the case. I suppose to put it simply, I expected more from the ending of a beloved series. Don’t get me wrong, a TON of the content was amazing and everything I wanted in the last book to happen happened, but everything in between was so unnecessarily long and dragged on,it was ridiculous! Winter was quite the hefty sized book folks, coming in at a whomping 823 pages! So when I tell you there was a lot of filler, there was A LOT OF FILLER. Yes, all the events that occurred (for the most part) needed to happen for the plot to be played out the way it did; I just think there could have been a little less redundancy here and there.

Ok ok, I’m done pointing out negative things….

Winter was an entirely new experience from the other books in The Lunar Chronicles. This is the first book in the series, in which almost all of the content takes place on Luna! It was wonderful to see the story from a brand new setting and watch the characters evolve and adapt to their new environment. Probably one of the best things over all about book four was the romance between all the couples in the story. UGH SO MUCH FEELS!! I have to say, hands down, the relationship between Cress and Thorne is my absolute favorite!! In the end all romantic loose ends were tied up beautifully, and I couldn’t have been happier with the outcome!

Speaking of the ending…oh.my.goodness. So intense! I could not put the book down! Everything finally came to a head and I was on the edge of my seat! Cinder proved to be the  badass princess/queen that I knew she would be and totally took charge in every way!

Overall I was satisfied with the conclusion of The Lunar Chronicles, I just wish it had been shortened down to about half of what it was so as to have sped things along a little faster. Although, that will not stop me from recommending this series to any fantasy/scifi fan or any fan of Fairy Tail spin offs! I am definitely sad to be saying goodbye to Cinder, Thorne and the rest of the characters in the world of The Lunar Chronicles!

Buy Winter on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

