Review: Sweet Evil (The Sweet Series #1) by Wendy Higgins

11808950

Goodreads Summary:

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

My Review

Sweet Evil has been on my TBR list for an eternity, so I was more than happy to finally get around to reading it! I have heard everyone rant and rave about this book causing me to have very high expectations! Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed.

Anna is your typical good girl lead who begins to crush for the first time on bad boy drummer Kaidan (who is also British). Kaiden is everything you want in a book boyfriend and more! However, their romantic struggle in this book was the most frustrating and grueling thing ever!!! I had no idea that a book I thought was primarily focused on the romance would be so… well, unromantic. Instead it teased me constantly with their feelings for one another that they refused to really act on.  Don’t get me wrong, the premise for this book was awesome! I’ve read plenty of books on Nephilim, but Higgins definitely brought her own creativity to the story.

I did enjoy this book, just not nearly as much as I was hoping for. I really appreciated the depth to the characters Higgins created and the battle she’s made between the angels and demons, but overall, not a whole lot happened in this book to further the plot. Certain parts of the book were dragged on a little too long for my liking. Therefore, I can definitely say that this first book was all set up for whats to come. I can only hope that it proves better for Kaidan and Anna’s relationship and maybe a little more action? I’ve already started reading book two and am liking it thus far. Fingers crossed I get to see some progress in Anna’s relationship with Kai!!

I would definitely recommend Sweet Evil to any fan of Young Adult Paranormal Romance!

Buy Sweet Evil on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

