Review: Deadly Curiosities (Deadly Curiosities #1) by Gail Z. Martin

18775220

Goodreads Summary:

Cassidy Kincaide owns Trifles & Folly, an antique/curio store and high-end pawn shop in Charleston, South Carolina that is more than what it seems. Dangerous magical and supernatural items sometimes find their way into mortal hands or onto the market, and Cassidy is part of a shadowy Alliance of mortals and mages whose job it is to take those deadly curiosities out of circulation.

Welcome to Trifles & Folly, an antique and curio shop with a dark secret. Proprietor Cassidy Kincaide continues a family tradition begun in 1670—acquiring and neutralizing dangerous supernatural items. It’s the perfect job for Cassidy, whose psychic gift lets her touch an object and know its history. Together with her business partner Sorren, a 500 year-old vampire and former jewel thief, Cassidy makes it her business to get infernal objects off the market. When mundane antiques suddenly become magically malicious, it’s time for Cassidy and Sorren to get rid of these Deadly Curiosities before the bodies start piling up.

My Review

I was so excited to read Deadly Curiosities! I found this book when the author was sitting outside a book shop at my state’s Renaissance Festival signing her books! (See how nerdy I am?) The author was really cool and nice and her book sounded like it was right up my alley! Unfortunately, my enthusiasm soon waned.

When I first began the story, I got super into it! I felt like I was reading an episode of Supernatural and at any moment Sam and Dean were gonna bust down the door and take out all the ghosts with their shot guns filled with rock salt shells! The characters were varied and had depth and the premise was intriguing and engaging. This lasted for maybe the first 100 pages until it slowly died down so much that I could barely follow the content.

The plot was there, but it was like it was on repeat as far as what actions the characters took to defeat the antagonist. I really liked where the story was initially headed, but once I realized how much the events were being dragged on unnecessarily, I became bored with what I was reading and actually struggled to finish it. I also felt like there was an eventually implied romance between Sorren and Cassidy, but I never got to see anything develop. Which is unfortunate because Sorren was probably one of the most intriguing characters in the book and he didn’t receive nearly as much attention as he should have! I noticed that book two does surround him so there is potential there. However, I doubt I’ll pick up book two, especially since it doesn’t release until December.

Deadly Curiosities was an acceptable supernatural read, but it was more disappointing and much longer than I expected it to be.

You can buy Deadly Curiosities on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

