Review: Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

11614718

Goodreads Summary:

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

My Review

Delirium was just like any other dystopian novel, besides the fact that love aka the “Delirium” is considered a disease that the government has developed a cure for and makes mandatory for every U.S. citizen when they turn 18 to receive. Sympathizing with lovers or “invalids” is strictly forbidden, but a rebellion still lurks in the shadows nonetheless. Pretty interesting premise right? That’s what I had always thought. I guess I was just looking for a little more out of the story in general.

Lena begins as a star citizen, looking forward to the day she receives the cure, that is until she meets Alex. She then discovers who the true enemy is and what it means to actually truly love. Secrets are revealed and she soon  realizes she will go to great lengths to keep her love, even if it means leaving everything she knows behind.

I enjoyed Lena and Alex’s characters for sure! It was intriguing to see love develop out of such hesitation. It was even more bizarre to read about characters and a society that didn’t know how to love. However, it felt like most of the story was all set up and slow plot filler in between a few really good moments. Quite honestly, not a whole lot happened in this book. I mean clearly it’s leading up to a great anarchy of some sort which brings me to the point of the predictability of the story. Although I will say that the ending was super shocking and had my jaw dropping. It was heart wrenching and baffling. Now I have no idea if this series is worth continuing. I’ve heard some pretty negative things actually.

I suppose I liked Delirium well enough, but after that ending I don’t think I’ll continue with it. You can buy Delirium on Amazon here.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

