Alice in Wonderland: Review and Appreciation!!

alice in wonderland appreciation

04fc25cd5b008f940c6dc2a9b9dd4a75

I’ve been meaning to discuss this story for so long and am so pleased to finally get around to it! Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is so beautifully bizarre and ridiculous, yet it can be surprisingly profound at the same time! It is a classic story that has inspired so many authors to create amazingly unique stories of their own! I have been a fan of Alice in Wonderland most of my life and have been reading spin offs for years! It’s funny, because up until the past year, I hadn’t actually read the original story! Granted I had read Alice in Zombieland by Lewis Carroll and Nickolas Cook prior to the real book, which was basically the story plus zombies! Anyway, I knew that after all the versions and fiction I’d read over the years, I was doing the real Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland a disservice by not reading the true story.

83346

Carroll created a world so very strange and absurd, that you can’t help but fall in love with it! The plot of both novels is so off track and so mismatched that they become pretty difficult to follow at times. As I read the books,I would find myself flipping back pages to make sure I didn’t skip over anything, only to find that I had read it correctly! Carroll purposefully made the story bounce from scene to scene, and situation to situation, giving the story the dreamlike quality it has. By the end of each novel, you never quite know if Alice really did fall down the rabbit hole, or if she never left the spot she fell asleep in. I love how Carroll does this, he leaves it entirely to the reader to decide. In fact, he ends Through the Looking Glass with the rhetorical question of whether or not the whole trip was a dream. There really is nothing out there that can compare to this extraordinary story. Just when I start to think things are getting really weird, Carroll will suddenly get so literal with some of his phrases that I’ll be laughing out loud!

alice-in-wonderland-card-men-clip-art-43105

The layers and depth to Wonderland have left a lot open to interpretation, leading to many more Alice novels created by authors with their own version of the story! And we can’t forget the numerous movies that have been released since the creation of the book! I have read so many variations and have fallen in love with most all of them! I felt that it was fitting I share them with you guys! They are numbered based on how much I loved them: most favorite starting at #1 and so on.

7c0dab2bd3e230b1a172f45cd9dbad60

You don’t even need to be a fan of Alice in Wonderland to enjoy these books! The ones that I’ve reviewed are linked to their post, the ones I have not, are linked to Goodreads!

11300302

1.The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter

cover

2. The Collectors’ Society  by Heather Lyons

44170

3. The Looking Glass Wars  by Frank Beddor

12558285

4.Splinterd by A.G. Howard

10678311

5. Alice in Zombieland by Lewis Carroll and Nickolas Cook

TO COME ON MY TBR LIST: (LINKED TO GOODREADS)

Alice in Deadland Trilogy by Maniak Dhar

(Yes, I see the zombie pattern…)

Insanity by Cameron Jace

Her Mad Hatter by Marie Hall

quote2

Leave a Reply

