Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931

Goodreads Summary: 

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

My Review

Red Queen was a fast paced easy read that kept me riveted throughout. The characters were varied and the plot left it open for more to come. Mare was a strong female lead with more than a few guys on her side. In fact the amount of men interested in Mare had me rather conflicted throughout the story! I honestly had no idea who I wanted her to be with at some points. However, by the end of the book I was definitely sure of who was worthy of Mare’s heart!

The main downfall to this story in general that had me knocking it down a star is the fact that this plot line was far from original! I felt like I was reading the love child of Shadow and Bone and Red Rising! The caste system was basically exactly like Red Rising, and the “different girl who has special powers no one has seen” was straight out of Shadow and Bone. Then you have the boy she grew up and the royalty boy pining for her just like Shadow and Bone as well! The apocalyptic setting was also a mesh of both books!

Don’t get me wrong, I definitely enjoyed this book. There was a huge plot twist at the end that totally blew my mind and I’m definitely eager to see what happens next! I just felt like I wasn’t reading something new and unheard of… I will be sure to read book two titled Glass Sword, unfortunately it doesn’t release until February of 2016!

I would still recommend you read Red Queen especially since I really wasn’t too pleased with the ending of The Grisha Trilogy anyway and Red Rising wasn’t as wonderful as I wanted it to be either. So each book has something to offer regardless.

Buy Red Queen on Amazon here!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

