Review: Maximum Ride Forever (Maximum Ride #9) by James Patterson

22208238

Goodreads Summary:

THE NINTH AND ULTIMATE MAXIMUM RIDE STORY IS HERE! Legions of Max fans won’t be disappointed by this encore episode in the beloved series about the incredible adventures of a teenage girl who can fly. As Maximum Ride boldly navigates a post-apocalyptic world, she and her broken flock are roaming the earth, searching for answers to what happened. All will be revealed in this last spectacular “ride”- a brand-new grand finale featuring all of the nonstop action, twists and turns that readers can rely on in a blockbuster Patterson page turner!

My Review

I have been reading the Maximum Ride series for about 8 years now. I have been lifted up, beat down, and taken on the biggest emotional rollercoaster that a series has to offer! Writing this review is going to be difficult! In the beginning I was whole heartedly in love with this series, however over the years I can’t help but feel that these books have been tainted if only for how much it’s dragged on! I mean 9 books? Come on!! Not to mention, we ALL know how terribly terrible the ending of what was supposed to be the last book of the series: Nevermore was! How an author can mess with their readers by saying a book in the series is the last one then magically poof an additional book in there to make up for an awful ending is beyond me. Nevertheless, I am glad Patterson released one final book because it was 100% better than Nevermore. That doesn’t mean book 9 was super fantastic though, but it did reignite my love for the characters and their insane journey!

Maximum Ride forever was filled with all the usual elements this series has! The suspense and action was literally nonstop, I could not take my eyes from the pages. Right when things settled down, another plot twist was thrown in or a battle scene picked right up again! Now that the apocalypse has happened, the flock is in for the biggest game of survival they’ve ever faced! New enemies form, old enemies return, and once again (much to my annoyance) the flock splits up in order to deal with the new world surrounding them. Patterson messed with my emotions hardcore in this book, there are quite a few gut wrenching events that left me baffled and in denial throughout!

Max and Fang’s relationship is rocky and dysfunctional again but their ending was one that left me wholeheartedly satisfied. However, sorry to disappoint you folks, but Fang’s role in this book is rather small. The POVs switch often and the general plot outline is pretty similar to the past books. Of course there were surprises that I definitely didn’t see coming, but when it comes down to the basics, certain things that happened were representative of the previous books. The apocalyptic setting was exciting and devastating all at the same time and added to the suspense of the story and the classic narration by Max was oh so appreciated!

Despite the faults in this series, I was overall satisfied with the final turn of events in this book. Though some of it was a little strange, all loose ends were tied up and the characters’ endings left me smiling. Finishing this series left me feeling both content and sad to be leaving the friends I had followed for so many years. Maximum Ride Forever was a good ending to what was an overly long series, but I was pleased with it nonetheless! For those readers out there who have stuck with this series as long as I have and was just as disappointed with Nevermore as I was (let’s face it, who wasn’t?) I definitely recommend you reading this final book, if only to find closure with the ending and with the characters!

You can buy Maximum Ride Forever on Amazon here, or anywhere that sells books!

Leave a Reply

