Review: End of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

18500665

Goodreads Summary:

End of Days is the explosive conclusion to Susan Ee’s bestselling Penryn & the End of Days trilogy.

After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?

My Review

I’ve been reading the Penryn and the End of Days series for quite a few years now and have painstakingly waited for each book to come out! Finally it has literally come to an end and I have to say that I’m pretty satisfied with the way events played out.

End of Days picked up right about where World After ended, though I wish I had gotten the chance to reread the second book before the third. At this point I had a better memory of book one (I read it twice) then book two. Nevertheless, I caught up pretty quickly with the content!! I have to say that I definitely liked the End of Days better than World After! It was a whirlwind of action and emotion and never slowed down for a moment!

The suspense and insane supernatural activity was nonstop in this third book! Susan Ee stayed true to her writing style and included some brutal and sinister plot elements that were bone chilling and thrilling all at the same time! Her eerie writing style is what makes her books so unique and gripping to read! The creatures in this book are utterly terrifying and make for the perfect enemy for Penryn and her allies. And believe me when I say that there are plenty of unexpected allies in this book! The plot thickens, the dark and scary gets darker and scarier, and two sides of a war clash!

Now lets talk about the romance between Penryn and Raffe *sighs* which is what we’ve AAAALL been waiting for in this last book!!! Can I get a whoop whoop?! Their relationship in this book finally became what I wanted! Yes it was rocky but it felt right! I will say that certain parts of their romance seemed a little rushed or abrupt, but I was still satisfied with the final outcome between the two of them! Speaking of the ending, all I can say is DANG!!!! The final battle was sooo epic!! I really enjoyed how well thought out the fighting was, though I felt that a few parts weren’t drawn out for as long as I wanted them to be, but regardless the conclusion definitely met my standards and covered what needed to be covered!

(Side note: Angels Fall by Breaking Benjamin totally epitomizes this book series!!! Think about it from either Raffe or Penryn’s POV!)

If you have been following Penryn’s story all this time, then I recommend that you definitely continue your journey and read this final book!! Buy it on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

