Review: Dead of Winter (Arcana Chronicles #3) by Kresley Cole

18746546

Goodreads Summary:

Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole’s Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions 
Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her—until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, the Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts…and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory 
Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on the Lovers. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana—or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned 
There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first…?

My Review

I was more than ready to finally get my hands on this book! The Arcana Chronicles is one of my absolute favorite series! And now that I reread the first two books I was fully prepared to “sink my claws” (pun intended) into this book!!!

Dead of Winter started off just about right where Endless Knight left off! After Evie learns of Jack’s capture she will do anything to get him back even knowing how many times he’s deceived her in the past. She is willing to defy Death to get to him!

This book was nonstop suspense, I mean literally! Danger and imminent doom lurked behind every corner! Kresley Cole’s dark and sinister plot elements were definitely prominent in this third installment, making for an eerie and gut wrenching story! The love triangle between Evie, Jack, and Death, aka Aric was killing me throughout!! So to add to the constant suspense and action, there was the anticipation over which guy she would choose to be by her side for their rest of her uncertain life! After reading Endless Knight my heart began to be torn. I had always been Team Jack, but I definitely had sympathy for Aric! However, as events played out, I made up my mind that Evie should be with Jack regardless! Though I admired Aric’s fierce love and steadfast determination to win her over!

As the story reached it’s peak, I found myself even more riveted by the precarious content that unfolded!! “The Lovers” were beautifully crafted into this blood thirsty enemy that you couldn’t help but despise! I commend Cole for going to such lengths in creating every character in this book, but especially these two, cause they are some pretty sick pups! Their characters made for a totally brutal climax that had me glued to the edge of my seat. I was never able to predict what was coming next!

By the time the ending rolled around, and Evie had to make her final decision, I found myself getting nervous over her choice! I quite honestly was not sure which guy she would choose, but of course I hoped it would be Jack! I won’t give away who she chooses, but I will definitely say that the ending of this book was completely and utterly GUT WRENCHING!! I cannot believe Cole ended the book with such a HUGE cliffhanger!! This was not an easy book to finish at 2:30 in the morning and try to sleep on folks! Of course now I MUST have book four!!! I can’t wait to see what’s next, and I’ll probably be biting my nails the whole time until then in anticipation and in denial of what my eyes beheld on the pages!

If you are a fan of The Arcana Chronicles, I would definitely recommend you continue your journey with the series and read this exquisite book!

Buy Dead of Winter on Amazon here, or anywhere else that sells books!

Leave a Reply

