Review: The Watcher (The Watcher Saga #1) by Lisa Voisin

13665100

Goodreads Summary:

Millennia ago, he fell from heaven for her.

Can he face her without falling again?

Fascinated with ancient civilizations, seventeen-year-old Mia Crawford dreams of becoming an archaeologist. She also dreams of wings—soft and silent like snow—and somebody trying to steal them.

When a horrible creature appears out of thin air and attacks her, she knows Michael Fontaine is involved, though he claims to know nothing about it. Secretive and aloof, Michael evokes feelings in Mia that she doesn’t understand. Images of another time and place haunt her. She recognizes them—but not from any textbook.

In search of the truth, Mia discovers a past life of forbidden love, jealousy and revenge that tore an angel from Heaven and sent her to an early grave. Now that her soul has returned, does she have a chance at loving that angel again? Or will an age-old nemesis destroy them both?

Ancient history is only the beginning.

My Review

The Watcher started off with a grabber for sure, making me intrigued to see how events would play out between the two main characters: Mia and Michael. Mia has always seen unexplainable thing all her life, so when the mysterious and ever reappearing Michael shows up at her high school she soon begins to truly question if what she’s always seen is actually real. As Mia learns more about her intense past she shares with Michael, her life is put more and more at risk. True enemies are revealed and true love is brought forth once more.

When I read the summary of The Watcher on Goodreads, my first thought was: yup I’ve definitely seen/read this before, but hey maybe this author did it differently somehow. Well the answer to my thoughts was more of a yes and no kinda thing. Yes, there were a few aspects about this book that were different from other books I’ve read, but as for the past Mia and Michael shared together, that was almost exactly as I had seen it before. But hey, I still saw this book through! Though I didn’t feel a strong connection to the characters, I did appreciate their romance, and I will forever love the angelic terminology that was implemented throughout the story.  I just could have done with a little less weepy Mia and a little more dominant and less insecure Michael. I also felt as if there wasn’t a lot of plot movement, and when things started to get really interesting, they were over in a flash.

This book had potential for sure, but just didn’t quite reach my standards. I was also distracted while reading it since I just started up my second semester and things have been crazy for me. So I feel like that could have been a detriment to my experience for sure. I’m hoping for a better relationship between Mia and Michael in book two as well as more action/plot movement, which I am already seeing more of after having just started it. My blog tour date for book two titled: The Angel Killer in on Sunday January 18th.

Maybe you’ll enjoy book one more than I did. Buy it for only $.99 on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

