Review: The Queen of Zombie Hearts (The White Rabbit Chronicles #3) by Gena Showalter

 

18377617

Goodreads Summary:

I have a plan. 

We’ll either destroy them for good, or they’ll destroy us. 

Either way, only one of us is walking away. 

In the stunning conclusion to the wildly popular White Rabbit Chronicles, Alice “Ali” Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She’s ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It’s then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun. 

As the surviving slayers prepare for war, Ali discovers she, too, can control the zombies…and she isn’t the girl she thought she was. She’s connected to the woman responsible for killing—and turning—Cole’s mother. How can their relationship endure? As secrets come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.

Okay guys be prepared for some major…0db22e7bf7123887637a4ac14db9b927

My Review

Oh how do I put into words all my feelings for this book and this series?! I’m still reeling after having just finished it in the wee hours of the night/morning. Though I was so terribly sad to see Alice and Cole’s story come to a close, I couldn’t have been more happy with the ending! And I am so glad I decided to reread the first two books beforehand. It made the experience all the more thrilling, and the book hangover all the more painful.

Now that Zombie Ali has been defeated, Ali and the rest of the slayers are more than ready to take out Anima once and for all! However, as more abilities begin to surface, Ali starts to see a new “Witness,” one whom she has a deep connection with. As she grows closer to the witness, tension rises between her and Cole, and Anima begins throwing everything they’ve got at the slayers in order to capture and use Ali for their own purposes. While Anima becomes more ruthless, Ali finds herself doing anything and everything in her power to protect the people she loves.

The Queen of Zombie Hearts was by far the most intense of The White Rabbit Chronicles! Just when I thought things were beginning to settle down, BAM, something would happen that blew me off my feet! New characters are introduced, and an insane plot twist that I never saw coming gets thrown in! Through it all, Gena Showalter never failed to keep me riveted by the content. Ali’s narration is absolutely wonderful, she continued to make me laugh out loud (causing multiple stares from my family). Not to  mention her banter with Cole is just heart-stopping! Well their relationship is heart-stopping! There were so many beautiful lines shared between them that had me swooning all over the place.

large

This book definitely had the greatest romance of the three, with the most steamy action too! And yes things do go a little south for Cole and Ali in this book again, but through it all their love is always apparent. I loved seeing how much their feelings had evolved between book one and three. They were able to overcome any obstacle that stood in the way of their relationship!

As the ending rolled around, I found myself getting so worked up over the events. There was just so much happening at once that I couldn’t let myself put it down! Explosions, and deaths and more terrible things and wonderful things and beautiful things and agonizing things! Then there were tears, and they were awful tears but there were wonderful tears too..let’s just say I was a wreck.

ku-medium 2

The White Rabbit Chronicles was one of those series that gave me chills as I read the last lines, even all the way through the acknowledgements. When it was all said and done I just had to put it down look up and be all:

ku-medium

Though parts of this book broke my heart, the rest of it pieced it back together. I understood why what happened happened and was satisfied with everything that occurred.  Oh and btw: there’s a bonus scene from Through the Zombie Glass that’s in Cole’s POV during the break up scene. That scene my friends was fantastic from his perspective and provided so much closure!

This series is definitely one of my all time favorites and if you haven’t read it or haven’t read book three, you better do so ASAP!! Please do yourself a favor and finish the series, buy The Queen of Zombie Hearts on Amazon here, or anywhere else that sells books!

Leave a Reply

