RE-POST: Review: Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles #2) by Gena Showalter + Extra Blurb From Me After Rereading

As you may or may not know, I made the tough decision to reread the first two books in The White Rabbit Chronicles before finally reading the third and final installment titled Queen of Zombie Hearts which came out back in September. Hence why it was a tough choice to wait this long until I finally had the time to reread the books in order to fully comprehend and appreciate the final one. I read the first book prior to creating my blog so I had never posted a review for it until recently. Check it out here, and especially be sure you read the first book before reading this review. I originally posted this review over a year ago, so I figured now that I’ve reread it so much later, it wouldn’t hurt to reshare it and post some extra thoughts/feelings that I gained from the second go around. (You have to scroll through to the end to read them). And can I just say that: DANG! I POSTED A LONG REVIEW!

9780373210770_SHC_PRD_FC_r1

Goodreads Synopsis:

Inspired by the childhood classic Alice in Wonderland, this harrowing and romantic story features teen zombie slayer Alice Bell who has lost so much—family, friends, her home. After a strange new zombie attack, Alice fears she may be losing her mind as well. A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do wicked things. The whispers of the dead assault her ears and mirrors seem to come frighteningly to life. She’s never needed her team of zombie slayers more—including her boyfriend, Cole—than she does now. But as Cole strangely withdraws and the zombies gain new strength, Ali knows one false step may doom them all.

MY REVIEW (reshared)

 

I read Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) back in January so that was before I started blogging. So I have not  done a review for it. All I can tell you is that if you haven’t read it READ IT! It is soooo freaking good! This series is seriously one of my top favorites especially in the zombie category.  I am a HUGE zombie fan and was so excited to come across this series. Alice in Wonderland + Zombie= AWESOME!!! Anyway, waiting for book two to come out was long and grueling but I was soo excited to finally get my hands on it! I literally just finished it about 20 minutes ago so my reaction is pretty dang fresh, here we go folks.

If you haven’t read Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) you can buy it on Amazon here and anywhere that sells books!

***WARNING!! WARNING!! SPOILERS AHEAD! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ BOOK ONE OF THIS SERIES READ NO FURTHER!***

Through the Zombie Glass had me reeling for the very beginning. I honestly could not put it down! I was glued to the pages, bringing this book with me everywhere…I have problems. Anyway, Alice is in full zombie slayer mode from the start, but a lurking enemy is a constant threat throughout, an enemy that you will never expect. There was quite the twist in this book and I commend Gena Showalter for her ingenuity on the whole zombie phenomena. Alice is such an amazing female lead, she is brave, has the fighting capabilities of a superhero, is compassionate and loves wholeheartedly. Things get extremely rough for her in this book, and you would think that after brutally losing her family in the first book, things could not get much worse, but oh they sure do.

The suspense kicked up a huge notch in this book, making for a page turning action filled adventure. One development occurs after another, and you will find yourself questioning who is a friend and who is an enemy. Just when you think things are slowing down, something else happens that will suck you in for more. It was difficult for me to go about my life doing the things I’m forced to do when I had such an awesome book waiting to be picked up again. I’m sure all you book lovers understand this dilemma. STORY OF MY LIFE.

Now for the love….Don’t even get me started on the Ali-Cole relationship…*sighs/swoons/drools*. I love Cole! He has all the things you could expect from any Alpha Male. He’s a bad boy to the bone, has the tattoos, the leadership, and the fighting skills that kill, plus he doesn’t take sh** from anybody! Him and Ali are so perfect for each other, but there are moments in this book that left me screaming out loud in frustration and heartbreak over the difficulties in their relationship. There were just soo many issues arising between them that killed me inside, but underneath it all was a love neither could deny and I knew it! Throughout the book they have a very tumultuous relationship that goes up and down and all over the place as new characters are introduced and new situations arise. There was no doubt in my mind that they belong together, and there are scenes in this book that will just make your toes curl! So readers when things go downhill for Ali and Cole’s relationship, don’t give up hope! The best is yet to come I promise you!! You get to a see a new side to Cole, one that is beautiful and totally sexy, making for an amazing romance. That was what was also super awesome about this book: the action/suspense/zombie killing was beautifully paired with the romantic aspects. Gena Showalter definitely accomplished the perfect balance in this book! Not to mention she also created plenty of side characters that you can easily love and appreciate as well. This book would be seriously weakened without the side characters that add to the depth of the story.

By the time I finished this book, I was left completely and totally satisfied with the plot and the romance!   I absolutely loved this book!!! And I can’t wait to read more, I need more after being on such a high from reading it. I recently discovered that book three will be released September 2014, which is such a long wait I’m gonna die…I’ll probably be forced to reread both books by then to be fully prepared, but I’m sure it will be worth it, I expect good things from the next book for sure!!

You can buy Through the Zombie Glass on Amazon here! At Barnes&Noble here and anywhere that sells books!

 

extra thoughts/comments after rereading

Well basically everything written above rings true for my second go around! I actually flew through the pages even faster this time since I’m still on Winter Break, making the experience all the more enjoyable. In fact, this time around I stayed up into all hours of the night reading it! Aw, there ain’t nothin like the joy that comes from sleep deprivation due to reading! This review speaks for itself. Through the Zombie Glass was just as fantastic, if not better than Alice in Zombieland, and took me on a wonderful adventure!Just as in my initial read, I took this book everywhere I went, and reading it the second time was just as thrilling as if I had read it for the first. I think that has a lot to do with the fact that I read it over a year ago and seriously needed this refresher! Either way, my love for this series is pretty darn freaking high! And I just started book three, not sure how I feel about officially finishing it, and can already feel the book hangover coming on. Le sigh.

Final thoughts: READ THIS BOOK!

Leave a Reply

