Review: Alice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter

11300302

 

Goodreads Summary:

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

My Review

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, then you’ve probably noticed how much I’ve talked about The White Rabbit Chronicles! This series is one of my favorites,and since I’m currently on Winter break and I received the 2nd and 3rd books for Christmas, I’ve finally been able to reread Alice in Zombieland!Let me just say that I am so glad that I did. I first read it before I started my blog and have since reviewed book two, so I was more than ready to finally put up a review for book one.  It’s funny, because when I looked back at the rating I gave it on Goodreads, I was surprised to see that I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars. Before I had even gotten halfway through my reread of it, I already knew that it had definitely earned a 5 star rating! This series is one of those that makes me squeal like the fangirl I am and shout and hit things while I read it, and it was so lovely to experience again.

Don’t let the title fool you, yes the main character’s name is Alice, and the chapter titles tend to allude to the original classic with a few references to it here and there, but this book really doesn’t have much to do with Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland at all. Of course, that doesn’t make the story any less fantastic! Alice Bell has always been the odd girl out due to her father’s insane phobia of the “monsters” that lurk in the dark. However, after a tragic accident, the truth is revealed, and those “monsters” aren’t quite so imaginary anymore. Soon her life becomes turned upside down as she learns to battle these creatures from the alluring yet totally badass Cole whom she shares a special connection. As the plot thickens, true enemies are revealed, and Ali must make decisions that could literally mean the life or death of those around her.

Alice in Zombieland is everything you can ask for in a good book! It puts a spin to fighting zombies that I promise you’ve never seen before! The action is constant, the romance is playful and oh so enticing. The main characters are so on point, you can’t help but fall in love with them! Ali is who any girl wants to be; she is strong-willed, selfless and never backs down when the going gets tough! Cole Holland is 6+ feet of total AWESOME/HOT, he’s witty, charming, a leader, tattooed, and absolutely perfect for Alice! He’s definitely up there on my book boyfriend list! This book will most certainly leave you asking for more, which is why you should continue your journey with The White Rabbit Chronicles and read book two titled: Through the Zombie Glass, which I am currently rereading so that I can finally read book three for the first time! I’m SO EXCITED!! Book two is just as great if not better than book one! I’ll reshare/add a fresh blurb about book two when I’m done reading it! But for now, do yourself the favor and start The White Rabbit Chronicles! You won’t regret it!

You can buy Alice in Zombieland on Amazon here or anywhere else that sells books! It’s currently on sale for $1.99 on Amazon, so I would seriously jump on this opportunity cause that price jumps up high and quickly (trust me I’ve kept track before).

 

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: RE-POST: Review: Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles #2) by Gena Showalter + Extra Blurb From Me After Rereading | Escape Inside the Pages

  2. Pingback: Alice in Wonderland: Review and Appreciation!! | Escape Inside the Pages

Leave a Reply

