Blog Tour: Review &Excerpt: Divinity by Michelle L. Johnson

22117059

Book Blurb:

When Julia climbs into a flaming car to save a trapped child, she’s left wondering why either of them survived. Then she learns that her father is the Archangel Gabriel, and that she is half human, half Archangel.   

With guidance from Michael, the most powerful Archangel, Julia sets out to discover her own history and explore her angelic powers. But her journey is cut short when an evil force, invisible to human and angel alike, tears her world apart.   

Now Julia must fight through her despair, harness her newfound gifts, and risk her very soul to stop the A’nwel and protect the family she never knew she had.   

What she doesn’t know is that Archangels have secrets too.

**I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review**

My Review

I have read many an angel book in my lifetime (cause I’m ancient I know) and Divinity still found a way to be different then any other I had read before. Julia is not the child of just any angel, she’s the child of the Arch Angel Gabriel himself. With this news brought into her life, her world gets turned completely upside down as she experiences loss likes she’s never felt before and encounters the darkest of creatures this world has ever unleashed.

Divinity pulled me in instantly with a sweet romance and the introduction of supernatural entities right away. Julia was a heroine that I could appreciate and admire for her constant strength during the worst times of her life. This poor girl goes through so much in this book, too much if you ask me. One particular death in this book killed me inside and dampened the rest of the story for me. It was so sudden and completely tragic, it just wasn’t the route I wanted for the plot line.

The rest of the story had plenty of angelic awesomeness that I hadn’t experienced in a book before. The creatures were new and there were some high intensity moments. However, by the time the final epic battle came to a head I was ready for an awesome showdown, but it ended no sooner it started. What happened I definitely liked, but I just wanted  a little more action/gore/suspense. I will say, that I did see a potential new romance growing between Julia and a certain angel by the ending, but I won’t name names (fingers crossed). Overall, Divinity was a good supernatural read filled with new and exciting elements.

 

Buy Links: Amazon/ Barnes&Noble/ Apple iTunes/ Kobo

Find Divinity on Goodreads

Excerpt:

Julia slipped her hand under the table to give Alex’s a gentle squeeze, but missed, grabbing the inside of his thigh. His face erupted into a beaming grin. Julia flushed crimson and snatched her hand back.

“We were talking about your father,” Julia said, shifting her gaze back to the portrait. “And how the handsome devil gene seems to have been passed down.”

“Lucky for me, then, if that’s how I landed you.”

“Really, Alex,” Mrs. Williams scoffed. “Landed? She’s not a fish.”

A smile played on Julia’s lips as she watched the exchange. Though she enjoyed their banter, she felt a pang of jealousy. Even when her adopted family was alive, they never got along that way. In fact, the only thing she had heard about them in the last ten years was that they had died six years ago.

Author Bio:

authorMichelle L. Johnson is the author of DIVINITY, a supernatural urban fantasy, and the author of THE FOOTLOOSE KILLER, a mystery. She’s also a literary agent, a coffee lover beyond reason, and has a fascination with the workings of the human mind.

Her key influences have been Stephen King, Anne Rice, and C.S. Lewis, but is inspired by every author to put pen to paper.

Michelle lives in Jacksonville, Florida with her muse and her rambunctious Cocker Spaniel, Sammy.

Author Links: Facebook/ Twitter /Website

Leave a Reply

