Review: Ruin and Rising (Grisha Trilogy #3) by Leigh Bardugo

14061957Goodreads Summary:

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

My Review

Ruin and Rising picked up about 2 months after the ending of Siege and Storm which was with Alina having almost died fighting the Darkling and being forced to retreat underground under the protection of the Apparat. The third and final amplifier’s location is still unknown.

Ruin and Rising had it’s share of good action moments, however, it didn’t really seem like there was a whole lot of plot movement. Luckily, the story line itself makes for a fast read so I wasn’t bored at any time during the story. I will say that there continued to be a lot of romantic frustration once again up until the very end. It got so aggravating at some points, but I was determined to see Mal and Alina’s relationship succeed, and I wasn’t disappointed.

There were quite a few plot twists that I most definitely did not see coming in this last book, and plenty of new information was revealed. More surprisingly, I found myself laughing out loud at the witty humor that was exchanged between the characters. I don’t really remember laughing, or there even being humor in the first two books, but maybe there was. That was one of the things that dampened my experience with this last book, I read the first two so long ago, that I had forgotten some important elements of the story. Sure plenty of it came  back as I read–at least the important stuff did–however, there were quite a few characters that I honestly didn’t have any recollection of.

By the time the ending rolled around and the final battle came to a head I found myself feeling disappointed. It just felt like Ruin and Rising was lacking overall. I think I expected more excitement from the story itself and a little less traveling than what the characters seemed to do for a good chunk of the story. Yes there were some awesome surprise moments in between, and I loved the romantic turn of events/overall romantic conclusion, but I just wasn’t too impressed with the book as a whole. I was looking for the “catcher” the overall big “gripper” from the storyline and I didn’t feel it. Ruin and Rising was a good enough conclusion, but it didn’t go down swinging in my book. I would still recommend you finish the series though, if you have already started it.

You can buy Ruin and Rising on Amazon here, or anywhere that sells books.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

