Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

8755785

Goodreads Summary:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Review

If I could use two words to describe Heavenly Fire: IT DRAGGED. Now that Clary and Jace are back on the same team again and the whole of the Clave and world of Shadowhunters/downworlders were ready to take out Sebastian, I was hoping for an epic last book. Of course, I didn’t have high expectations since I gradually grew more disappointed in this series after book three. I was also super hesitant about reading the last installment when I saw that it was a behemoth of a book coming in at a whopping 725 pages folks! Nevertheless, I pushed on and was determined to conquer this Mt Everest of a conclusion.

I grew annoyed almost right off the bat with this book because of the constant switching of the point of views. I just didn’t care about 50% of the pov’s I was reading. To me, it took away from the true main characters perspectives and added unnecessary pages. It was almost like Cassandra Clare was trying to mimic the way a movie is filmed. I was reading the book as if the action was being given frame by frame, but in a movie the camera can quickly switch from situation to situation to amp up suspense without the wait being long, but you can’t switch that often with books. It takes too long, and it’s too strenuous.

The general plot line in Heavenly Fire was of good quality for sure and there were some high points of action that I will commend, however there was just too much fluff of those other pov’s in between for me to be pulled in completely. Right when I would get excited about what was happening, the pov would switch and when it came back that situation had already moved on. I enjoyed the book the most when the five main characters came together, basically when not much was left out anymore.

Jace and Clary’s romance was very low key in this book. Now that they could finally be together with no strings attached you would have thought that the romantic scenes would be abundant, but no. There were very few adorable scenes between the two (though there were some really good lines, I will admit), which was just a super bummer.

By the time the book ended, all lose ends were tied up and the resolution was pretty good, though once again the “after ending” really dragged. The conflict was resolved and then I realized “wait there are still 100 pages left, what the heck does she need this many pages for?” The final pages were cute, the characters turned out the way I wanted them to. Overall, this book was a disappointment with too many pages and waaay too many pov jumps that made it drag. It wasn’t terrible, it wasn’t great, it was just…okay.

If you really choose to finish the series, buy it at any bookstore or on Amazon here.

 

2 Comments

  1. It sounds like a shame that it was lacking the excitement of the first books. I hate books which drag. I often put them down and forget I was reading them! And the fact the romance was very much downplayed disappoints me. I shall eventually read this book but I think I’ll just set it aside a while longer. Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

