Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read, so this includes any book that I’ve bought but am not sure I want to read anymore, books that have received a lot of hype but I’m skeptical of, or books that I’v heard a lot of mixed feelings about.

13455782

1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: I see this book everywhere and have heard good things from one of my friends and mixed reviews from blogs. So I haven’t decided if I want to put forth the money and buy it on Amazon or not. If it were $3 sure, but it’s currently $5 on Amazon and that’s too big of a commitment right now lol.

 

11614718

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver: I received this book as a gift last year and have yet to read it. I’ve heard bad things about the love interest and the way the series ended, but I still see it pop up everywhere. I own it, so more than likely I will eventually read it, I just don’t know if I should keep putting it off or not…

13377

3. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer: I have had this book for years and attempted to read it a while back. I barely got 50 pages in and stopped because I got bored, but that was 2 years ago or so and both my mom and sister read it and enjoyed it.

7631105

4. The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner: I read The Maze Runner when it first came out, so by the time the second one hit the shelves I had forgotten some of the story and wasn’t as interested anymore, but I have been thinking about reading it again and finishing the series since the movie is coming out soon. What to do?

18660669

5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead: All of my friends love these books and I’ve been wanting to read them but there are so many of them, that I’ve been holding off cause I know once I start I’m in for the long haul.

11870085

6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: SO MANY PEOPLE (even my grandma) says this book is fantastic. However, I still have heard it’s not as fantastic as people make it out to be, and the twist ending was given away to me (unwillingly). So basically I’ve kinda sworn off it knowing what happens to these characters. I just don’t want to do that to my heart.

10818853

7. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James: My friends have enjoyed it, a lot of bloggers have enjoyed it, but it also has a lot of 1 and 2 star reviews on Goodreads, and do I really want to take the dive into that kind of romance? But, the movie is coming out and I think I’m going to be dragged to it…so I would hate to see it without having read the book…

3236307

8. Graceling by Kristin Cashore: Another book series I’ve heard lots of mixed feelings on, but the description sounds intriguing and I love a good renassaince story!

9917998

9. Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry: This is yet another series in which I read the first book: Rot and Ruin when it first came out so by the time the second released I forgot about it and wasn’t sure if I was in love enough with it to continue. But it keeps showing up and I haven’t read a good zombie book in a while.

16068905

10. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: I see this book everywhere I turn and it is basically the epitome of my fangirl shenanigans, but Idk if I would get bored by it or not seeing as its a contemporary young adult book.

What do you think? Should I read these books? Is it worth it? What books are you struggling over reading? Maybe I’ve read them and can help!  Comment below!

23 Comments

  1. Shatter Me although I wasn’t completely sold on the story, the writing is absolutely beautiful and Warner is fantastic! I binge read the whole Vampire Academy series earlier this year and thought is was amazing, I definitely recommend it! As for The Fault in our Stars I was not completely sold on it when I read it. It lacked something for me and I believe it was just too hyped up.

  2. I didn’t like Shatter Me…buuut, I loved the 2nd two books. IMO they were way better. 😉 And don’t worry, I think $5 is a lot of commitment too sometimes. xD I nearly put Delirium on my list too. I loved The Maze Runner but I was a bit weirded by it’s ending and I’m very unsure where the whole thing is going. *shrugs* STILL. I will probably read that one eventually.
    Here’s my TTT!

    • That’s funny cause I’m hearing that the first Shatter Me is good and the other two aren’t as good hahaha. And yeah $5 is a lot when you’re used to paying $3 and $.99 on Amazon! The maze runner’s ending was a little out there, but I might reread it just for the movie and decide then if I want to continue. Thanks for the help!

  3. I enjoyed the Shatter me series. The writing is amazing and different. I have only read the first VA book but it is addictive. I enjoyed The Fault in our Stars but I didn’t know the hype or the ending so It might not be that great if you already know that. As for 50 shades. It is intriguing becasue I never read that kind of book before. I enjoyed it but the writing is only ok. once you get past the shock… it wears off. I didn’t bother with the third book…it got boriing.

  4. VA is one of my favorite series. So, of course, I recommend you go for it – just don’t watch the movie. Mmkay? 🙂

    Shatter Me was amazing. The writing is beautiful. The other two books were terrible – writing is still good, but the character assassination (and I mean, figurative character, not an actual person) was off the charts ridic. It ruined this author for me forever.

    I loved 50 – it was definitely an experience.

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  5. I think Fangirl is great. It’s not written too young but rather for the older end of the YA market. I didn’t like the Shatter Me series very much. I read it because of the hype but overall found it lacking. I would recommend The Fault in Our Stars – sometimes there is something to be said for just reading a book because it’s popular. This way you can see why everyone adores it.
    I’m a huge Vampire Academy fan… it takes a few books to really get going but once it does – I loved the paranormal elements as well as the romance.

  6. I’m going to go against the grain and say don’t read Shatter Me. I like the first book but the second book made me want to throw them in the trash.

    I adore Fangirl, and I had to choose one book to say you have to read, Fangirl is it. I love everything about it.

  7. Since you read the first installment of TMR, you could totally just watch the movie to get a grip on everything again then proceed with the second/third if you enjoyed it? That’s what I’d do, at least, if I read TMR (which I need to get to soon!).

    You could totally watch that shoddy pilot of Delirium to basically say you’ve read the first book (at least I think the ending of the pilot coincides with the ending of the first book). It’s really quite tacky LOL.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

