Review: Dark Inside (Dark Inside #1) by Jeyn Roberts

10637838

Goodreads Summary:

Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs…and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it’s turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies. This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in–or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is traveling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness–and to find each other and a place of safety.

My Review

There were many aspects about Dark Inside that were similar to your typical apocalypse novel. However, there were a few key traits that made it stand out from others and are what made me decide to pick up this book at Goodwill (on half price day) in the first place. Yes I do get books at Goodwill occasionally, who wouldn’t? Dark Inside is not your average zombie story, in fact what these “creatures” (they are called baggers in the book) are in this story are never quite revealed. The entire novel had me guessing the entire time, almost to the point of frustration.

Probably the best part about this book was the way the author started the story. Each perspective had brilliant individuality and their own set of suspense. It was absolutely thrilling, and pulled me in right away. Dark Inside follows the stories of four teens: Aries, Clementine, Mason, and Michael. Each chapter is a new POV from each teen as they struggle to survive the sudden apocalypse. With the bizarrely interesting POV of “Nothing” thrown in throughout. Side Note: “Nothing’s” perspective totally reminded me of the song: “The Show Must Go On Part 1” by Famous Last Words. Check it out if you want! Though warning, it’s not for the faint of heart.  End of Side Note. “Nothing’s” perspective was so poetic and super intriguing and I commend the author for that!

However, as the story continued, and all the characters had been introduced, I found myself waiting for the big twist, but it never came. I knew based off the description that the four main characters were eventually supposed to meet up and that their stories were intertwined; but, I didn’t expect for that to not happen until the last 40 or so pages of the book. Here I was loving the entire exposition but the author just waited too long to well…get on with the rest of the story from there. Not to mention, subtle hints as to what the enemy was were given throughout the book but none of my questions were answered. It was so aggravating not to know why what was happening was happening. I mean I understand this book is the first in the series but that doesn’t mean a little more information can’t be revealed in the first book.

The ending of Dark Inside held the same effect as the exposition: I really enjoyed it and was on the edge of my seat! So…Dark Inside had a wonderful beginning and an awesome conclusion, though there really wasn’t much of  a cliff hanger. No “gasp” I need book two now, that paired with the fact that I only really enjoyed the first 70 pages and the last 40 pages is why I’m opting out of reading book two titled: Rage Within. But hey if any of you took the time to read this somewhat abnormally large review (sorry it just kinda happened) and have read book two of this series let me know if it’s worth reading by commenting below and I’ll definitely consider it! This book was far from terrible, it just wasn’t fantastic, and not good enough to make me immediately read the sequel.

You can buy Dark Inside on Amazon here or anywhere that sells books.

 

Leave a Reply

