Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

13206760

Goodreads Description:

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review

Scarlet was a beautiful addition to the Lunar Chronicles! At first I was skeptical of there being new main characters and point of views but I found myself loving these new characters I think almost more than I loved reading through Cinder’s eyes, though it’s a close tie. Furthermore, the switching point of views added so much depth to the story! Meyer utilized each perspective in such a way that had me glued to the pages in anticipation of what was to happen next. Oh and a wonderful new character is introduced: Captain Thorne who had me laughing out loud on numerous occasions. I absolutely loved reading about him especially when he was interacting with Cinder because I knew it was bound to be entertaining.

Scarlet was action packed and full of suspense! The conflict grows ever deeper and sinister in book two as the Lunar Queen Levana becomes more and more eager to take over earth and all of it’s inhabitants. A maleficent plot is revealed that both Scarlet and Cinder are determined to stop. Oh and have I mentioned that the romance in book two is hot! It’s more precarious and risky making it so much more enjoyable to read about. As events play out, Scarlet and Wolf’s relationship evolves in numerous ways, and though at times it may seem like there is no hope for the two of them, in the end their feelings for one another win out. Sorry Prince Kai but I like Wolf as a alpha male (literally) better…

Plenty of new information is also revealed in Scarlet making me all the more excited to see where this story takes me next. Though I would have liked to have seen a little more plot development occur, I was still thoroughly captivated by the story throughout the entire book. One other drawback to Scarlet was that there was so little content given on Kai. I really wanted to see more on his relationship with him and Cinder, but I will say that his lacking presence made sense to the plot-line and I can only hope he will get more “page time” in the next books.

Overall, Scarlet was a fantastic addition to The Lunar Chronicles! It was wonderfully enthralling, contained plenty of action/suspense, and had a new romance worth fighting for! I can’t wait to see what happens next in Cress (book #3)!

You can buy Scarlet on Amazon here or anywhere else that sells books!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

