Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book- to- Movie Adaptations (Good & Bad)

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

So this week’s Top Ten Tuesday according to The Broke and the Bookish is a “freebie” Tuesday meaning…

I GET TO CHOOSE MY OWN TOPIC!!!

emma-stone-excited

 

Soooo…..I’ve decided the time has come to discuss/bash/fangirl on the many book- to- movie adaptations that have occurred over the years. Every book lover can relate to the anticipation/ feelings of impending doom we all get when we discover our favorite book is going to be made into a movie. I mean if they don’t cast the main guy and girl right, there will be hell to pay. If they don’t include your favorite scene you’ve reread multiple times in the movie you’re gonna slap a hoe! We have ALL been there! So here they are in no particular order (I’m starting with the bad so as to end on a happy note), the cream of the crop and the gum on the bottom of the shoe Top Ten Book-to-Movie Adaptations:

 

The Bad and/or Would Have Been a Good Movie if it wasn’t Based on a Book:

41865

1. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (Movie out in 2008):

I mean..come on!! I was as big a Twihard as the next girl back in the day, but even I was disappointed/devastated/disgusted by who they chose to cast Bella *cough cough* Kristen Stewart!!

Exhibit A:

06201210_

Zero emotion, just kinda awkward and not who I pictured! And honestly they could have done a little better than Robert Pattinson too but he wasn’t as bad. I will say that I loved pretty much all the rest of casting, but getting the main two characters is kinda the key to success! Then we come to the content of the movie in which it became the story of how Bella fell in love with Edward in like 30 seconds, whereas in the book, there was quite the passage of time before that really happened. Oh sad day indeed!

113436

2. Eragon by Christopher Paolini (Movie released in 2006):

This movie falls into the category of “Would Have Been a Good Movie if it wasn’t Based on a Book.” The movie (as a movie) wasn’t too bad, but as a book adaptation:

6cUpwXy

The movie was ABSOLUTELY NOTHING LIKE THE BOOK!!!! It was so bad they didn’t even continue making them for the rest of the series! How depressing can you get?! And the movie trailer was a trap of deception, it fools you into thinking it would be epic and wonderfully like the book but NO! Lies…LIES!

thelastsong

3. The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks (Movie released 2010):

I freaking loved this book and bawled my eyes out during it but when I saw that they cast Miley Cyrus as Ronnie I about had a heart attack! Her acting was so bad that when she cried over the heartbreaking twist in the story I was laughing (No joke)!

Observe:

tumblr_lr9n46nAUn1qks6muo3_400

Do you see a tear there, cause I sure don’t! I saw more emotion out of the little boy playing Noah than her (his tears are the ones that brought me to tears during the movie).

28187

4.  Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Movie released 2010):

Yet another series that I loved, in which the movie brutally destroyed it! Once again the movie was waaaay too different from the book. It added an entirely new conflict that was completely unheard of and unnecessary and Annabeth’s hair is supposed to be BLONDE!! I still haven’t even seen the second movie….now that really says something.

200px-City_of_Bones

5.  The Mortal Instruments City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (Movie released 2013):

Another book that falls into the category of “Would Have Been a Good Movie if it wasn’t Based on a Book.” I did actually enjoy this movie, but when you look at it from the reader’s perspective, it really wasn’t as good as it could have been. The characters casting was not the best and they changed quite a few plot elements.

How do I feel about that Charlie?

Completing-reaction

Exactly.

********************************************

Now it’s time for…..

THE BEST BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATIONS THAT MAKE A FANGIRL… WELL FANGIRL!!!

 

22628

6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (Movie released 2012):

I loved this book so much and the movie portrayed the story and characters wonderfully!! I’m thinking it probably had something to do with the fact that the director was the author! Which begs the question: WHY DOESN’T THAT HAPPEN FOR EVERY BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATION?!

 Basically, all the classic lines/moments that made this book so loveable were included!

tumblr_m52lfpTOM11qe8i7ko2_500

13335037

7. Divergent by Veronica Roth (Movie released 2014):

Though I was originally hesitant about Shailene Woodly playing Tris (cause she is supposed to be short for one thing) I actually thoroughly enjoyed her acting and portrayal of the character. The movie overall was a lot better than I thought it would be, and it followed the storyline pretty well!

Oh and HELLO THEO JAMES:

tumblr_mylgrrYTUO1s4jaq3o1_250

6148028

8. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins (Movie released 2013):

Catching Fire the movie was actually a pretty fantastic portrayal of the book and a lot better than the first movie (not that that wasn’t terrible), but the events that played out followed the book very well, and the casting was done wonderfully!

Hey there Finnick! Sure I’ll take a sugar cube!

tumblr_mwrrbjexrn1r1mr1po1_500

Not to mention I love Jennifer Lawrence and her acting was all around impressive in this movie! (Haters gonna hate)

21787

9. The Princess Bride by William Goldman (Movie Released 1987):

Okay, so this is the rare instance where I read the book after I saw the movie, but in my defense I wasn’t even born yet when the book or movie came out sooo….

But anyway, The Princess Bride is literally my FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!! Everything about it is wonderful! I grew up watching the movie and only made the life changing decision to read the book a couple of years ago. And let me just say if you are one of the rare creatures that has not seen this movie yet (for shame on you) then do yourself the favor and read the book first cause it is FANFREAKINGTASTIC! The movie is the PERFECT adaptation of the book with all THE BEST one liners EVER!!

INCLUDING:

hello

and

inconceivable_princess_bride

and

mawwiage

AND FINALLY…I’VE SAVED THE BEST FOR LAST:

harry+potter+books1

10. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling (Movies released 2001-2011):

Never will there ever be a better book-to-movie adaptation than the Harry Potter Series! Every, single, character was cast PERFECTLY! PERFECTLY! The entire Wizarding World was created to the T, the story was told in a way that made sense to the book.  Though a lot had to be cut (the books are just too long to fully condense), what was cut, for the most part didn’t negatively impact my love for the book or movie! And let’s all be honest in saying that the ONLY movie that has ever been necessary to divide into two parts is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows! Not Breaking Dawn, not Mockingjay, not even (quite honestly) The Hobbit. But book 7 (the best book OF LIFE) needed two movies to fully be appreciated and they were done beautifully! I will never love a series more!

Thank you Warner Brothers and THANK YOU J.K. ROWLING!!!!!!

WELL DONE.

tumblr_lboxp0rG461qb0zfoo1_500

harry-potter-clapping-o

 

6 Comments

  1. OMG, yes to Harry Potter. Those books were AMAZING. When I lived in Switzerland, HP3 was the only book I’d brought with me (this was pre-kindle — I’m a total technophobe and only just got one last year!). The tiny town I lived in didn’t have a library, so I had to read HP over and over. And over. And I never got tired of it. 🙂 Also, you totally win best blog line ever for: “you’re gonna slap a hoe”. You crack me up!! 🙂

  2. I think viewers might have it all wrong: Stewart could quite possibly be a genius actress that we aren’t giving her enough credit for…?!

    Sad times. I haven’t seen the Divergent movie despite being one to read the novels within the day of release. I’ll probably get round to it when it’s released on DVD.

    I agree with you on being Catching Fire being a much stellar adaptation than it’s first installment. It was pretty on point!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

