Review: Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate

13493463

Goodreads Description:

And girl created boy…

In the beginning, there was an apple—

And then there was a car crash, a horrible injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker’s head clears a strange boy named Solo is rushing her to her mother’s research facility. There, under the best care available, Eve is left alone to heal.

Just when Eve thinks she will die—not from her injuries, but from boredom—her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

Using an amazingly detailed simulation, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect… won’t he?

 

My Review

So I had pretty high expectations for Eve & Adam due to the significant fact that Michael Grant wrote The Gone Series which is basically one of my favorite series ever! Unfortunately, this book did not really meet those expectations, in fact I was pretty disappointed.

Basic Plot lowdown: Eve had just gotten in a brutal car accident with more than just a scratch, basically her leg was almost cut clean off. Of course she’s in luck, because her mother runs a billion dollar company known as Spiker Biopharm that specializes in medical research on developing cures for diseases and discovering new advancements in medicine. So when things start looking up for her health fast, Eve begins to question just what exactly goes on at her mom’s work. She then has even more reason for suspicion when her mom gives her the more than strange task of designing her own human being off what is meant to be a “simulation.” As she begins to design her perfect dreamboat of a computerized male, she befriends the alluring yet mysterious Solo who helps her unravel the secrets of Spiker Biopharm, but she quickly discovers that there are some secrets better left unseen.

Eve & Adam had an amazing first couple opening pages that pulled you in from the very beginning. It had me asking so many questions and I was glued to the pages. Not to mention, I was really enjoying the hints of a brewing romance and the dual point of views of Eve and Solo. It was pretty adorable. However, as the story continued I realized that I was still waiting for the big “umph,” The part of the plot that would blow my mind completely and create some kind of epic twist that would unravel everything I thought I knew about the situation, but it never really happened. Yes the whole concept was super awesome from the getgo, but that’s why I was so eager to see where the story would take it. I was ready for intense suspense and action and there was only just a little bit to get me through during the climax of the book.  I guess I was just expecting for the story to move in a different direction. Don’t get me wrong, there were some secrets that were revealed that I wasn’t prepared for, but the main path of the book became obvious. I mean clearly the boy she’s creating is not going to stay a file on a computer, but when “Adam” finally came to life, it was almost anticlimatic. Grant and Applegate waited too long in the story for it to finally occur, so you really didn’t get to see much of what could have been.

I’m not sure if this is meant to be a stand alone book or not, if there is going be a book two, than I can see why the authors would wait as long as they did to make Adam present in the story. If not than I’m still just disappointed I guess.

Eve & Adam was an okay read, filled with a fluid enough plot to not make for a boring story. Of course, my feelings for it do not detract whatsoever from my love of The Gone Series.

You can buy Eve & Adam anywhere that sells books or on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

