Review: Divine Vices by Melissa Parkin

18761168

Goodreads Description:

Danger seldom leaves its victims unscathed in the ways of seduction, and this lesson is one that sixteen-year-old Cassie Foster now knows all too well.

Nine months following the traumatic accident that claimed the life of her mother and sister, this high school junior has at last found a fresh start in the quiet town of New Haven, Maine. In the company of her best friends, Ian and Gwen, she’s bracing the usual turmoil of adolescence and taking all in stride… until the new transfer student, Jackson Matthews, comes walking into her life. He’s arrogant, sarcastic, roguish, devastatingly sexy, and the very last thing Cassie wants to entertain. But when circumstances drive these two together, she finds herself a bit too close for comfort as their bond intensifies. Plagued by unexplainable events, a sudden string of disappearances, and even a cult-related murder, Cassie begins to fear for her life. Is it all just a coincidence that these happenings began when this Casanova strolled into town, or has she in fact fallen for a real lady-killer, or worse?

My Review

Divine Vices pulled me in almost immediately with it’s relatable female lead. Cassie is a 16 year old with crazy friends and a pretty cool dad with a life that has seen tragedy but is still going strong. Of course that all starts to change when weird things start happening around her town, school, and even her mind. Then when Jackson Matthews shows up in school things really hit the fan.

Divine Vices began with what was a great set up to a potentially really good story! The characterization was fantastic and Melissa Parkin established really strong character relationships that I thoroughly enjoyed. And sure some of the high school elements were a little cliche but that was whatever, as long as the story was good.

And yes I did feel like it was good, until I realized I was at 50% and I was still waiting for the big epiphany to hit, the point in the story where “yes, that’s what’s really going on, dang I didn’t see that coming.” But it didn’t come until about 80% and in that last 20% so many plot developments were crammed in that I felt overwhelmed. Those plot developments were actually pretty  exciting  but they could have flowed much better if they had gradually been revealed throughout the story so as to provide a little more suspense rather than hurrying to fit it all before the end.

Now I come to the romance… Jackson and Cassie’s relationship was cute, developed and wonderful to read about, but the ending really messed with my head as to who I wanted her to be with. I don’t like to switch my feelings half way through, and as new information was revealed, I felt myself suddenly pulled in two different directions. I really liked her with Jackson (especially since he drives a 67′ Impala like a certain someone from Supernatural that I’m in love with/obsessed with) but I started to question his character a little as well as the future of his relationship with Cassie.

Overall, Divine Vices was a good read with great characters and a supernatural twist. I just wish the plot flow had been better structured and the romance a little different to fit my needy reading habits. There will definitely be a book two based off the pretty crucial cliffhanger, I’m hoping it will be better now that so much information was finally revealed.

You can buy Divine Vices on Amazon here.

 

Leave a Reply

