Review: Lady Thief (Scarlet #2) by A.C. Gaughen

LadyThiefHC

Goodreads Synopsis:

Scarlet’s true identity has been revealed, but her future is uncertain. Her forced marriage to Lord Gisbourne threatens Robin and Scarlet’s love, and as the royal court descends upon Nottingham for the appointment of a new Sheriff, the people of Nottingham hope that Prince John will appoint their beloved Robin Hood. But Prince John has different plans for Nottingham that revolve around a fateful secret from Scarlet’s past even she isn’t yet aware of. Forced to participate at court alongside her ruthless husband, Scarlet must bide her time and act the part of a noblewoman—a worthy sacrifice if it means helping Robin’s cause and a chance at a future with the man she loves. With a fresh line of intrigue and as much passion as ever, the next chapter in Scarlet’s tale will have readers talking once again.

My Review

Oh how do I express my love for this book?! Well first of all let me just say that I am a HUGE fan of the legend of Robin Hood, so when I discovered Scarlet (Book 1) a little over a year ago, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. Of course when I finished it,  I wound up loving it, and was left with quite the developmental ending which led to me being quite disappointed when I  discovered that I had to wait over a year to read book two!  So here I am now finally having read it and am soo excited to be reviewing it!

Some time has passed between the events that concluded book one and the events  that start book two. Of course Scarlet’s identity has been revealed to the general public, and her love for Robin has been made known as well (in the most beautiful way). However, now a new sheriff must be appointed, and it is up to Robin Hood and his band of outlaws to ensure that the new sheriff is not the tyrant the old one was. The appointing of such a sheriff then leads to the arrival of Prince John himself and…you guessed it, Gisbourne who is back to not only to claim the role of sheriff of Nottingham but to strike a deal with Scarlet as well.

Whilst Gisbourne’s bargain with Scarlet take effect, she finds herself deeper and deeper in the clutches of nobility and the beast that is Prince John. She struggles to stay strong as she is forced to play the unwilling role of a Lady of the Court, whilst trying to help the people abused by the Prince and her true love Robin.  Which leads me to the romance aspect of the story *sigh*. Could it have been any more wonderfully beautiful??? I was swooning on more than one occasion as I turned the pages of this fantastic story. Robin and Scarlet’s love for one another is so pure, so powerful, and completely overwhelming for both their hearts. It leads Scarlet to do unspeakable things and makes her all the more steadfast as a women as well as a lead female character. She is one whom any girl could look up to. Constantly throughout the book she proved she didn’t need to rely on anyone to take action and make a difference. And she really exemplified the name Lady Thief to the “T.”

The plot twists and suspense were nonstop throughout the book, and I found myself completely glued to the pages! I just couldn’t put it down, the romance, the character development, the action/suspense filled story line, all had me attached wholeheartedly to the wonderful world Gaughen created. By the time the ending rolled around, not only was I left totally reeling at the final events that played out, but I was also left saddened at the fact that it was already over. Now all that’s left is the long hard wait until book three comes out, which I will surely be reading as soon as I possibly can!! I loved Lady Thief, it was a magnificent addition to the Scarlet series, and I cannot wait to read the third book!

You can buy Lady Thief anywhere that sells books or on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

