Review: Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

17383918

Goodreads Synopsis:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

My Review

Allegiant followed smoothly after Insurgant with Evelyn in control of the city, the factions abolished, and the truth revealed that their city was a part of something much bigger than they ever could have imagined.

Allegiant brought about an entirely new setting and conflict, one that deals with more than just Tris’ city but the entire country. Tris finally discovers the truth about what it really means to be Divergent and what the purpose of the factions really was. Tobias also makes some discoveries of his own, these new revelations prove detrimental to his relationship with Tris. Emotions flew all over the place,  and yet despite it all their love stayed strong and pure. Yet again Veronica Roth created realistic romantic conflicts that she didn’t drag on but mended in a believable way (my favorite thing about her writing).

However, as the story progressed, the content became long and little too over detailed. Some events that occurred really weren’t that necessary, and I found myself struggling to get through the book at times. I would probably attribute my feelings mostly to the fact that I didn’t feel like the conflict was strong enough. Therefore it didn’t elicit a powerful  drive from me to see the characters succeed. I felt like the main conflict could have been a subconflict to the real problem. 

As the ending rolled around, events escalated quickly into a place I thought they would NEVER EVER go!! I found myself in complete shock and denial with the way things ended. I was devastated and disappointed with the overall conclusion, there is no way the story needed to go down the way it did!  It left me wishing I had never read book three and had stopped with Insurgent which I had enjoyed soo much more. So no I don’t think I would recommend you read Allegiant if only to save yourself the heartache and despair over the final pages of the last book in the trilogy.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Allegiant” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

