Review: Shadows (Lux .5) by Jennifer Armentrout

13183957

Goodreads Description:

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.

Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.

Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

I feel pretty ashamed of myself that I waited this long to finally read Shadows when it’s the novella to The Lux series, which is basically one of my all time favorite series ever! I had owned this book for at least 3 months before I finally got the chance to read it, and I am so glad I was able to! I’m writing this review on the basis of having read the entire Lux series already, so if you haven’t read The Lux series yet,sorry they’re might be some spoilers.

Check out my review of The Lux series here!

My Review

So as you know, Shadows is focused on the relationship that brews between Bethany and Dawson (Daemon’s twin) before Daemon ever even meets Katy. Shadows is actually pretty essential when moving on to read The Lux series, it’s not mandatory, but it definitely helps you understand and appreciate the characters and plot in the following books.

Shadows was so adorably romantic, it was actually more so based on the romance rather than the alien aspect of the story itself. Dawson quickly forms a strong bond with Bethany from the get-go, one that is transforming, and all consuming for the both of them. With their relationship comes many problems, no one from the Lux world will accept them, besides Daemon and Dee. So this book consists of their struggle to deal with the growing hostility as well as with keeping their relationship a secret from the DOD.

What was so wonderful to read in Shadows, was the evolution of the relationship between Bethany and Dawson. Jennifer Armentrout is so fantastic at character development in her books, and you really get to see the two characters grow as they discover their true feelings for one another. Of course there was also a fair share of alienness and suspense, just not nearly as much as there is in The Lux series itself since this is a novella.

Now speaking from my point of view (which means I’ve read The Lux series twice now), it was absolutely fantastic to finally understand what happened between Dawson and Bethany. Reading Obsidian (Lux #1) first makes it feel as if a human/alien relationship is brand new, when really it had already happened before with Dawson and Bethany. I was excited to see what really caused Dawson and Bethany to disappear, and how they became connected in the same way that Kat and Daemon do. Not to mention, after reading Shadows, I now have a deeper understanding for the reasons Daemon had his reservations toward Kat in the beginning. He truly was afraid of history repeating itself. He had every reason to be cautious and distant from Kat, even if it was unbelievably frustrating for the reader at the time

Shadows shows a side to Daemon that you don’t really get to see much of first hand in The Lux series. You actually get his POV in this book which allows the reader to comprehend the depth of his love for his siblings, which makes the ending all the more emotional as a reader. And, since I already knew the general idea of how Shadows was going to end, it was even more difficult for me to keep reading as I became more attached to Bethany and Dawson. Either way I’m so glad that I finally  was able to read this book and comprehend all the events leading up to the start of The Lux series.

I would definitely recommend you read Shadows, especially if you are holding back after having already read The Lux series! And if you haven’t even touched The Lux series yet, I would say to most certainly read Shadows first, it’s short and it’s an easy page turner. I wish I had read it first, it would have brought everything together perfectly in the following books. I really didn’t know what I was missing. Shadows is sweet and exciting and a necessary part to the comprehension of The Lux series as a whole.

Pick up your copy on Amazon here! Do it! It’s only $.99!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

