Review: Grace Lost (Grace Series #1) by M. Lauryl Lewis

16063864

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twenty-year-old Zoe Kate is young and naïve, and quite frankly a loner. When her lifelong friend, Adam Boggs, comes home for the summer they find themselves thrust into the middle of a zombie plague. As they flee their hometown in hopes of finding safety, they come across two other survivors, Emilie and Gus. The group of four quickly form bonds and must make difficult choices at every turn in order to stay alive. They will witness unimaginable horrors and experience unthinkable losses as life and death mix together in ways that were never meant to be. Things aren’t always as they seem when God’s Grace has been Lost to humanity.

My Review

Being the zombie fanatic that I am, I am always on the search for a good zombie apocalypse book. So you can imagine, I was excited to pick this one up. Well I must have set my expectations a little too high, because I was disappointed by Grace Lost. Who knows, maybe I’m being a little harsh, but after having read so many FANTASTIC zombie series, I now have a standard to meet.

This zombie tale starts off right in the thick of things that gets the reader going right away. Unfortunately, there was little to no foundation given as to how the zombie outbreak actually started. I kept waiting for there to be some sort of explanation as to what was going on in the world to cause the apocalypse, and it just never came. Yes, there are some horrifying walking dead moments in this book that I did enjoy, but there weren’t enough to keep me on my toes, and keep me an excited reader. The group that Zoe and Boggs find themselves in stayed in one place a little too long, so there were some moments that just dragged. I wanted to see more progression overall from the story.

Furthermore, though romance is very prevalent in Grace Lost, it felt somewhat unjustified. I didn’t see a beautiful relationship formed between Boggs and Zoe, there wasn’t really any build up for it. It was just BAM! full on love. I wanted to see the struggle, the banter, the chemistry, and there really wasn’t much of that. I actually found myself enjoying the side characters: Gus, and Emilie more than the main two. The way Gus is described in the book makes him seem way more appealing than Boggs if you ask me. Gus and Emilie are necessary characters that added more depth to story, honestly I would have wanted to see the book from their points of view instead. Though that could be partly because I didn’t feel much of a connection to Zoe as a female lead, she was just a little too whiny for my liking.  However, I have to say there are some aspects in Grace Lost that I had not ever before encountered in a zombie apocalypse book that definitely had me intrigued and made the book worth finishing.

Overall, Grace Lost was an okay zombie book, it kept me interested enough to finish, and found ways to incorporate gory suspense scenes and romance into the plot all at the same time. In the end however, it just wasn’t a grabber for me, the relationships felt a little too underdeveloped, and there was no rush of excitement that got me going. Though the book does end with a cliff hanger of sorts, I won’t be reading book two titled: Tainted Grace. If you want to read a quick zombie novel just for kicks I wouldn’t discourage you from reading Grace Lost, but I would say that there are many better zombie apocalypse books out there to read instead!

You can buy Grace Lost on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

