Review: Endless Knight (Arcana Chronicles #2) by Kresley Cole

16175040

Goodreads Synopsis:

Shocking Secrets

Evie has fully come into her powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. She now knows that the teens who’ve been reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle. It’s kill or be killed, and the future of mankind hangs in the balance.

Unexpected Allies

With threats lurking around every corner, Evie is forced to trust her newfound alliance. Together they must fight not only other Arcana, but also Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals.

Gut-Wrenching Treachery

When Evie meets Death, things get even more complicated. Though falling for Jack, she’s drawn to the dangerous Endless Knight as well. Somehow the Empress and Death share a history, one that Evie can’t remember—but Death can’t forget.

My Review

Endless Knight picked up right where Poison Princess left off, which was with a bang! Recap: Evie had finally come into her full powers and released “the red queen,” killing the Alchemist and exposing her true form right in front of Jack. Ladies and gentleman we have ourselves a cliffhanger that just begged for more! I was so excited to begin reading Endless Knight to see what was in store for Evie and Jack’s relationship. I had loved their dynamic from the very beginning, so I needed to know that everything worked out alright between them. I knew they were so in love with each other, so they had to overcome this new obstacle.

First of all, I commend Kresley Cole for coming up with a story that I have NEVER, EVER, seen or heard of before. Each character of the classic Tarot Cards comes alive every hundred years or so to do battle to the death! Who wouldn’t read these books with a plot line like that, especially if you’re a paranormal junkie like me!

Anyway, the action picks up in Endless Knight almost instantly. Evie and the gang’s lives are on the line constantly, and Evie will do anything in her vast power to protect the people she loves, even if it means she has to succumb to the raging monster within her. Endless Knight definitely had its fair share of horrific moments. Let’s just say this book kept me on my toes!

Now we come to the complicated romance that occurs in Endless Knight. I had so much inner turmoil over the course of this book due to all the twists and turns that occur in Evie’s relationships with Jack and… drum roll….Death himself! There were moments when I would be swooning from the beautiful exchanges between Jack and Evie, and moments where I would be screaming in frustration over their situation. Then there were moments with Evie and Death, where I found myself falling for their crazy chemistry that they have for each other. Death definitely has a little somethin somethin as you will well discover. Kresley Cole literally made me start to doubt whose team I stood for: Jack or Death’s, and believe me when I say that’s a rarity. It was almost aggravating how conflicted I was over the two guys, because there were pros and cons to both of them that the reader just can’t ignore. I think though, by the time I finished the book I remain team Jack, and you will definitely know why by the ending! Plus, I just am not one to stray from the original guy that I fall in love with in a series, it’s just not in my reading nature.

Endless Knight ended with an intense development that left me in dire need for book three! Book three is set to come out in October of next year, which to me is basically murder…ughhh. But I’m sure it will be fantastic! I would definitely recommend this book to those who have already read Poison Princess and are teetering as to whether or not to read Endless Knight. It’s an action packed, page turner, filled with plenty of romance, and crazy situations!

You can buy Endless Knight on Amazon here!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read in 2013 | Escape Inside the Pages

Leave a Reply

