Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

thecoldestgirlincoldtown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

My Review

I had such high expectations for this book after hearing and seeing so many good things about it. After reading it, I can now say without any hesitation that I did NOT like this book. This book was just another case of poor execution. The story and characters were there but the action taken was all wrong and could have been done soo much better.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is set in the modern age where the whole world is in the know about vampires living among us. In order to help prevent infection the government creates “Coldtowns” to quarantine the vampires, but these “Coldtowns” are also welcome to any humans crazy enough to want to join the vampires and be infected themselves. When Tana wakes up among dead bodies she encounters a peculiar vampire named Gavriel who is all dark and dangerous. They end up traveling together due to a series of events that I won’t mention and end up in the most popular”Coldtown” in the U.S.

Now naturally based on the book’s description I expected quite a bit of a romance to form between Gavriel and Tana, well nope! There was little to no romantic scenes in this book. In fact their supposed relationship was really bizarre and on-and-off again. The whole time you don’t really know how they feel about each other, plus you’re still trying to decide if you can trust Gavriel or if he’s just crazy. What little love that occurs between them is totally unjustified and not well developed whatsoever! That really irritated me about this book because I just kept waiting and waiting for their relationship to take off and NOTHING happened! Actually, Gavriel really wasn’t in the story very much at all. There were lots of little random chapters in this book that referenced his history but they weren’t necessarily from his point of view. In fact there seemed to be lots of random chapters that were just unnecessary.

My biggest problem with The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was that it dragged through the entire story. I had a very difficult time finishing it. I just kept waiting, and waiting, and waiting for the story to pick up, for there to be action scenes, steamy romance scenes, anything, and it just wasn’t there. I suppose the book kept me entertained just enough to keep me going but that was it. I will say that it was a bit different of a concept on vampires then I had read before. By the time the book came to its supposed “climax” there was not much excitement, the resolution was waaaay too quick, it was more anticlimactic due to the way the enemy was put down, not to mention it was just… kinda boring.

I’m not sure if there is going to be a second book, it ended in a way that both, brought the two characters together, yet will eventually separate them as well. It makes more sense if you read it, though I wouldn’t recommend that you do. Either way I won’t be continuing with the series. I’m sorry for this bashing review, I just get so frustrated when I waste my time on a book that was much longer than it should have been. Oh well, it happens to us all, not all books can be as amazing as others. If you want an AWESOME vampire series read The Captive Series by Erica Stevens! It’s currently free on Amazon! Buy it here! Read my review here!

Leave a Reply

