Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

51gAlcsYDBL

In the year 2195 the world has been devastated by natural disasters and civil war all resulting in the return of the Victorian age or what Lia Habel calls the “New Victorian Age” where, though technology is quite advanced, culture and society remains the same as it was during the Old Victorian Age. Nora Dearly having recently lost both her parents stands out from the usual ladies of her town: New London.  However, everything drastically changes when Nora is kidnapped by an army of the living dead who appear to be talking and moving about like any live person but with half their face missing. Nora suddenly finds herself in a world where the dead have come to life and try to get by by concealing their faces from the world. Amongst the army of the walking dead soldiers she befriends and begins to fall for Captain Bram Griswold, only there’s one problem…he’s been dead for two years. Through advanced medical treatment and technologies Bram is a full functioning zombie that Nora can’t help but feel attracted to. But not all zombies return with their human memories, a good portion return with an overwhelming and consuming hunger for human flesh.  As she learns more about the zombies surrounding her she unlocks secrets she never thought would be possible and struggles to find a balance between her life of the living and her love for the dead Captain Bram.

Dearly Departed was probably the most uniquely different zombie book I’ve ever read. It had so much potential with such an interesting twist. I have to admit, its pretty cool to have an undead army at your disposal and see good zombies vs. bad zombies go against each other. However, where with most zombie books I’ve read, its full of action and fighting off of the walking dead, this book did not seem to have much of that. In fact during some parts it was unbearably slow. The initial set up took too long, but I kept going, (I’m not one to stop reading a book in the middle of it, unless it’s really that bad) and I waited for a very climatic battle scene filled with suspense and the unknown and I found myself disappointed. This book is 482 pages according to my kindle, so it packs a load, and naturally I kept expecting it to get better, and it just didn’t. Sure it kept my attention, but that was probably because of the whole concept itself being so genuine.

The potential was there and I so badly wanted this book to be fantastic, I’m a huge zombie apocalypse fan and hadn’t read a zombie book in some time, so I was really excited to find Dearly Departed, unfortunately I didn’t find what I was looking for.  It wasn’t a complete waste though, the concept was super awesome, and there were some funny parts and intense parts for sure, but the content took too long to run its course and it wasn’t nearly as romantic as the Amazon description made it out to be.

Sorry this was a bum review again, man my next book better be good, I need a pick me up! So because this wasn’t so positive of a review here are a list of awesome zombie books I’ve read in the past! I hope this helps!

Great Zombie Books:

  • Warm Bodies by Issac Marion
  • Hollowland by Amanda Hocking (FREE ON AMAZON!)
  • Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick
  • Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
  • The Walking Dead Graphic Novels by Robert Kirkman
  • Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

These are all the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

 

Leave a Reply

